

Texas Primary Runoff Election Results

May 29, 2024

Yesterday, thirty-two primary runoffs were held throughout Texas. All eyes were on the House District 21 race, where Speaker Phelan was battling it out with David Covey. This race quickly became the most expensive state legislative race in the history of Texas with millions of dollars flowing into the industrial Southeast Texas district. Ultimately, Speaker Phelan was able to come out ahead with just over 350 votes. While he does not have a general election opponent, he will have to campaign the current legislators in an effort to retain his speakership this January.

It was a big night for Governor Greg Abbott and school voucher supporters, as three anti-voucher Republican incumbents lost their seat (Holland, Kuempel, and Burns). Abbott has said that he only needed to pick up two pro-voucher candidates in order to have enough votes to pass school vouchers this next session. Additionally, three other Republican incumbents were defeated by their further right opponents, and one Democrat incumbent lost her seat (Stucky, Klick, Frazier, and Thierry).

Representative Kuempel is the sitting Chairman for the House Committee on Higher Education, Representative Burns is the sitting Chairman for the House Committee on Land & Resource Management, and Representative Klick is the sitting Chairwoman for the House Committee on Public Health

All in all, 15 House Republicans and 1 House Democrat lost their seat this primary cycle. This, in addition to the 16 House members that have decided not to seek re-election means that we will have at least 32 new legislators this next session. Additionally, 9 of those members not returning are currently serving as Chair of legislative committees.

Incumbent House Races:

HD 1 - Rep. Gary VanDeaver (11,690) vs Chris Spencer (10,163)

HD 21 – Speaker Dade Phelan (12,813) vs David Covey (12,447)

HD 33 – Rep. Justin Holland (7,849) vs Katrina Pierson (10,138)

HD 44 – Rep. John Kuempel (7,129) vs Alan Schoolcraft (8,898)

HD 58 – Rep. DeWayne Burns (5,660) vs <u>Helen Kerwin (7,670)</u>

HD 61 – Rep. Frederick Frazier (3,270) vs Keresa Richardson (6,835)

HD 64 – Rep. Lynn Stucky (6,448) vs Andy Hopper (8,943)

HD 91 – Rep. Stephanie Klick (3,480) vs David Lowe (4,535)

HD 146 – Rep. Shawn Thierry (2,325) vs Lauren Ashley Simmons (4,248)

Republican House Runoff:

HD 12 – Ben Bius (3,860) vs Trey Wharton (10,127)

(Rep. Kacal seat)

HD 29 - Jeffrey Barry (5,330) vs Alex Kamkar (3,784)

(Rep. Thompson seat)

HD 30 – Jeff Bauknight (7,429) vs A.J. Louderback (9,094)

(Rep. Morrison seat)

HD 76 – Summara Kanwal (313) vs Lea C.S. Simmons (637)

(Simmons will face Rep. Lalani in the general election)

HD 97 – Cheryl Bean (5,173) vs John McQueeney (5,473)

(Rep. Goldman seat)

Democratic House Runoff:

HD 37 – Ruben Cortez Jr. (1,721) vs Jonathan Gracia (2,779)

HD 77 – Norma Chavez (2,742) vs Vince Perez (4,853)

(Rep. Ortega seat)

HD 80 – <u>Cecilia Castellano (4,201)</u> vs Rosie Cuellar (3,106)

(Rep. Tracy King seat)

HD 97 – Diane Symons (974) vs Carlos Walker (1,226)

HD 139 – Angeanette Thibodeaux (2,323) vs Charlene Ward Johnson (2,511)

(Rep. Jarvis Johnson seat)

Texas Senate Runoff:

SD 15 – Rep. Jarvis Johnson (9,354) vs Molly Cook (9,428)

SD 30 (D) – Michael Braxton (1,295) vs <u>Dale Frey (1,727)</u>

SD 30 (R) – **Brent Hagenbuch (18,741)** vs Jace Yarbrough (14,338)

Texas Congressional Runoff:

CD 7 – Caroline Kane vs Kenneth Omoruyi

CD 12 - Craig Goldman vs John O'Shea

CD 23 – Rep. Tony Gonzales vs Brandon Herrera

CD 28 – <u>Jay Furman</u> vs Lazaro Garza Jr.

CD 29 - Christian Garcia vs Alan Garza

CD 31 – Brian Walbridge vs Stuart Whitlow

CD 32 – David Blewett vs **Darrell Day**

CD 35 – Michael Rodriguez vs Steven Wright

Texas House Members who will not be returning:

- 1. Doc Anderson, (R) Waco
- 2. Craig Goldman, (R) Fort Worth
 - a. Chair, Energy Resources
- 3. Abel Herrero, (D) Corpus Christi
- 4. Jarvis Johnson (D) Houston

- 5. Julie Johnson, (D) Dallas
- 6. Kyle Kacal (R) College Station
- 7. Tracy King, (D) Uvalde
 - a. Chair, Natural Resources
- 8. Geanie Morrison, (R) Victoria
- 9. Andy Murr, (R) Junction
 - a. Chair, General Investigating
- 10. Victoria Neave, (D) Mesquite
 - a. Chair, County Affairs
- 11. Lina Ortega, (D) El Paso
- 12. Four Price, (R) Amarillo
- 13. John Raney, (R) Bryan
- 14. Matt Schaefer, (R) Tyler
- 15. Carl Sherman (D) DeSoto
- 16. Ed Thompson, (R) Pearland
- 17. Steve Allison, (R) San Antonio
- 18. Ernest Bailes, (R) Shepherd
- 19. DeWayne Burns, (R) Cleburne
 - a. Chair, Land & Resource Management
- 20. Travis Clardy, (R) Nacogdoches
- 21. Jill Dutton, (R) Ben Wheeler
- 22. Frederick Frazier, (R) McKinney
- 23. Justin Holland, (R) Rockwall
- 24. Jacey Jetton, (R) Richmond
 - a. Chair, Appropriations Article II
- 25. Stephanie Klick, (R) Fort Worth
 - a. Chair, Public Health
- 26. John Kuempel, (R) Seguin
 - a. Chair, Higher Education
- 27. Glenn Rogers, (R) Graford
- 28. Hugh Shine, (R) Temple
- 29. Reggie Smith, (R) Sherman
 - a. Chair, Elections
- 30. Lynn Stucky, (R) Denton
- 31. Shawn Thierry, (D) Houston
- 32. Kronda Thimesch, (R) Carrollton

For more information, please contact a member of the McGuireWoods Consulting Texas Team:

Holly Deshields, Senior Vice President/Director

Kwame Walker, Senior Vice President

Matt Matthews, Senior Vice President

Robert Wood, Senior Vice President

Jim Sheer, Vice President

Tracy Morehead, Vice President

Bri Weber, Assistant Vice President